Love Someone You Can’t Have? Here’s How to Get Out of It

How I moved on from a one-sided crush that lasted over one year

Azzurra
6 min readNov 30, 2023
Photo by Leonardo Sanches on Unsplash

I have had a serious crush on someone for more than one year. I’m not going to lie; it has been rough, and sometimes I still think about it. We are human after all, and we crave what we cannot have.

This “someone” is a guy I spend a lot of time with, in the same circle. I like to think we have a special relationship: we spend a lot of time together. He smiles at me. He seeks my company when we are with other people. Sometimes we see each other without other people.

He gives me the “signals” that make me think that we could be something more. However, he does not act. He keeps me in the limbo of not knowing what his feelings are.

If you have experienced this with someone, you know how frustrating it can be. How much of your thoughts, feelings and mental space this can take.

Does he like me?

He probably likes me. Maybe I should tell him

No. I don’t know how. And our relationship could change so much. He might think I’m stupid. And honestly he does not give me any clear signals that he actually likes me

So what do you do?

--

--

Azzurra

I love to write about what makes us human, and bold. I write what I write and that’s okay.